Quote This: Eric Carle in praise of slow

photo (31)

“It is true that I am slow, quiet and boring. I am lackadaisical, I dawdle and I dillydally. I am also unflappable, languid, stoic, impassive, sluggish, lethargic, placid, clam, mellow, laid-back and, well, slothful! I am relaxed and tranquil, and I like to live in peace. But I am not lazy.”

“That’s just the how I am. I like to do things slowly, slowly, slowly.”

– Eric Carle, “Slowly, Slowly, Slowly,” said the Sloth

Eric Carle is probably my favourite picture book artist-writer. Visit his marvellous world at his official site here. And then, take a day taking it slow, in honour of the Sloth. Come on. You can jump back into the fast lane tomorrow.

This week at Nothing By The Book, I was purposefully provocative with My kids are quitters. Wanna make something out of it? Read it and tell me if you wanna make something out of it. I dare ya’…

