Quote This: Jean Piaget on the principal goal of education

Jean Piaget: founder of Constructivism

The principal goal of education is to create men who are capable of doing new things, not simply of repeating what other generations have done.

Jean Piaget

I’m not a huge fan of Jean Piaget, actually. Nor, the more I think about it, this quote. Because… well. Parse it. Does education have only one, principal goal? Not really. It has a whole bunch, dunnit? And it’s very laudable to create men who are capable of doing new things. I suppose. Or presumptuous. Or… As I said, the more I think about it, the more problematic this quote becomes for me. But I’m keeping it here–because it makes me think. And so it’s done its work.

2 responses to “Quote This: Jean Piaget on the principal goal of education

  1. I like the quote- to me it is saying that the important thing is thinking for oneself, not being a sheep.

  2. How about this. My purpose in homeschooling my son is so that he can think. Isn’t that what Piaget is saying but in an old fashioned way. Public school stifles “thinking” I want the boy to think.

Say something. Or, you know, don't. But then I'll never know what it is you were thinking...

